Strange dreams and other things

My alarm went off at 5.50am. I turned it off and went back to sleep. T-bird gave my back a half kick. In my dream I was very intrigued to see how the plot would develop. I can’t remember the details but I was in some kind of difficult situation involving two women. Was I married to one and had made some kind of promise to the other? What made it more bizarre was that I knew this was the plot of some book. I had even asked the opinion of the most writerly blogging friend I knew. Lilian had agreed with the reviewer (but whether this comment was positive or negative I couldn’t remember).

The first woman had arrived from somewhere it seems. Maybe she had come to stay for a week? She met the second woman who I can only assume was my girlfriend. Woman #2  felt bad because  #1 had clearly been led to believe that we would have some kind of relationship, and she didn’t feel able to tell her the truth. I remember at some level thinking that these two women would be very annoyed to hear that I was actually married!

Woman #2 helped #1 with some kind of spell, which would need to be undone when woman #2 and I got together. Very complicated.

At which point L came to wake me to tell me that I had over-slept and that I would need to get a move on to get to work on time.

Bizarre. What did it all mean? One association that I have is with “Forty Seven Roses” in which Peter Sheridan writes about his dad who, while being married to Peter’s mother, managed to have a largely long-distance relationship with a previous girlfriend.

Needless to say I don’t have a girlfriend. I suppose the Jungians would say something about masculine and feminine selves. Maybe my feminine self has different aspects to her.

**

Other than that, I can report :

  1. T-bird is almost two. Loopsie is five. T-bird is quite good at the ‘terrible two’s” and at other times is sweetness and light. She charms strangers in shopping centres. She blows kisses at everyone in her little play-group. Her favourite activity is running around the house.
  1. I did a Resilience talk to our staff, and now feel heartily sick of the topic.
  1. I am endeavouring to read more novels written by women this year. I have just started “Station Eleven” by Emily St John Mandel. I have also just finished “Rembrandt’s Mirror” by Kim Devereux.
  1. I have also just started “Cloudstreet” by Tim Winton. We’ll see which novel wins.
  1. Not much else. Parenting. School. More school. Family. Back ache. The weather. And no blogging. Plenty of coffee though. Ho hum. I hope that life is more scintillating where you are.
2 Responses to Strange dreams and other things

  1. smithereens says:

    Nice to have some fresh news! I can’t believe your daughter is two (my son is also two, which I find it easier to believe somehow). I hope you enjoy Station Eleven, it was one of my favorite books last year.

    • Pete says:

      Hi Smithereens. Great to hear from you. I really enjoyed Station Eleven. Very imaginative and evocative. Also made me realise how much we take all our modern-day conveniences for granted. Now I’m reading Cloudstreet which is also enjoyable but completely different.

Leave a Reply

