Having a life

Tessie with Tuscany book

T with one of her favourite books (a travel book on Tuscany).

What does it mean to ‘have a life’? And how does one have a life when balancing competing demands? The demands of parenting are well-documented: the sleep deprivation, the loss of self, the loss of sanity even. Putting ourselves on hold so that we can calm the baby, reassure the anxious toddler, make the school lunch, just do the flipping washing and organise the baby-sitting.

I bumped into another dad outside the school gates. I was feeling a little dodgy and so was still trying to make it work vaguely on time and get started on the mountain of emails that I don’t look at on the weekend. This dad has four kids, the youngest of whom is six months old. He said something about parenting four young kids as being like “throwing live hand-grenades”. I was in a hurry so I muttered something about taking “one step at a time” and then tried to re-focus on my Monday morning. My mind already races ahead to the week’s activities. Testing, meetings, counselling, welcoming service, trying to organise admission for a boy to the clinic. And then hoping that I have the energy to cope with the demands of the week. At least I am blogging this week, even if it is just to say “Wish I was here”. Oh, and I’m loving reading “All the light we cannot see” by Anthony Doerr. Other than that, life is carrying on.

2 Responses to Having a life

  1. I am grateful for the check-in. Hang in there…it’s just been in the last couple of weeks that I’ve felt myself emerging from the frantic insanity of two young ones…it’s coming for you, too. I’m sure of it. I feel having a 5 year old and a 2 year old has been a great turning point for me. Looking forward to hearing more when you have time. Take care!

  2. Pete says:

    Thanks Courtney. I’m glad to hear that it gets better 🙂 At the moment it would make a big difference if little T slept through the night. Just under three months til she turns 2.

Leave a Reply

