Reading to a 4-year old

Here are three books that I’ve been reading to our four-year old recently. They are actually pretty good, apart from the princess pop-up book. Oh boy, do I get sick of those princess stories!

c&l_sizzles_300 dr xargle sleeping beauty pop up

Leah is going through a toilet-humour phase at the moment so I’m seriously considering investing in one of the Captain Underpants books. Yesterday we sang the “Diarrhea song” and managed about 12 verses. It is terribly silly and also quite addictive. Google if you don’t know it – or rather don’t since it may become an ear-worm!

Any other book recommendations for this age group? I downloaded an audio version of Charlotte’s Web but I think she’s too young for that.

As for Tessie, she just wants to rip out the flaps in all her books. I wish she would direct her energy towards something useful such as crawling!

Here’s a pic of the two of them this week. Tessie was not feeling great but she’s still a cute bunny.

Two bunnies

6 Responses to Reading to a 4-year old

  1. smithereens says:

    Favorites at our home around that age were anything by William Steig, the Toad and Frog collections by Arnold Lobel and of course anything with the Gruffalo. It might give you a break from the pink princess phase, but I’m not sure how long… If you have to allow some potty humor and don’t want Captain Underpants (I personnally can’t bear the sight of him), you can try “The Story of the Little Mole Who Knew it Was None of His Business”.

    • Pete says:

      Smithereens, thanks for the suggestions! I’ve added them to my TBR list. Maybe I’ll give Capt Underpants a skip after all (I’ve never read him, just heard one or two parents recommend him). I like the look of the others though.

  2. litlove says:

    Awww they are so cute! I adored the book reading. I hoped it made up for everything that had gone wrong during the day, although that’s probably wishful thinking. I’d recommend We’re Going On A Bear Hunt, the Alfie books by Shirley Hughes, the Hairy Maclairy books by Lynley Dodd and anything by David McKee. You get to find the ones you can bear for the 2,000th repetition!

    • Pete says:

      Oh, I love those too. Firm favourites at the library (although I think I should actually buy them since we borrow them so often). And I can see a lot of similarities between Annie Rose and Tessie May. David McKee is new to me though so I will check out Elmer the Elephant. Thanks for the recommendations 🙂

  3. I am ALWAYS looking for book recommendations for Evangeline so thanks for this. Of course, if she gets even a whiff of a thought that I want her to read something she rejects is completely so I have to be very, very subtle. Interestingly she is moving away, albeit slowly, from princesses, which is a blessed relief. Duncan is still very much in the board book phase – or rather, throwing the board books against the wall, as he has no use for sitting still. Glad for the update “from the trenches!” These ages – I mean, SO MUCH CRYING.

  4. Grad says:

    It’s been a long time since I read to a 4 year old. Favorites were The Little Red Caboose Always Came Last and of course, The Little Engine That Could. I don’t think it’s in print anymore, but if you ever find The Tall Book Of Make-Believe, grab it! If only for yourself. The best book ever.

Leave a Reply

