Ten posts I could have written

1. Renovations? You must be mad and rich

2. Leaks, snags, lots of dirt (and NOISE)

3. Debt, debt and more debt

4. On not sleeping and trying to watch the World Cup

5. The impossibility of sex

6. Losing my Kindle (again)

7. Parenting can be really boring

8. Perspective and how to get it back

9. Goodbye friends, see you whenever

10. On gratitude

Then there are the positives. Kitchen before and after. And two daughters who drive me crazy sometimes but also make be profoundly grateful. (Pictures are below).

Image

Image

 

11 Responses to Ten posts I could have written

  1. smithereens says:

    Ah well, don’t get me started on the posts I’d planned to write and that never materialized. Judging from the before / after pix, you’ve been busy enough and it was worth it. Your 2 daughters are so sweet! Maybe we should get them married to my 2 boys 😉

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Smithereens. 🙂 You’re right, it is worth it. But the hassle is considerable. I’m sure my daughters would love to meet nice boys – I’ll mention it to them. 🙂

  2. Corri says:

    Yes, I recognise this too well. Life’s too short to do it all! But you’ve got your priorities right when family comes first 🙂

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Corri. The irony of this is that as invasive as the renovations are, I will probably miss these guys when they’re all finished. They are a nice team and they’ve done a good job.

  3. litlove says:

    What a fabulous new kitchen! I hear you about the money and the time and all the rest of it – but when renovations look as good as yours, at least the sacrifice was worth it! The girls look wonderful.

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Litlove. Every week things are a little better and more manageable. But the combination of prem baby, moving, renovations and also the winter cold have been pretty overwhelming. I find parenting exhausting at the best of times but this has been a stretch. At least I have school holidays coming up to try and get my study into shape 🙂

  4. Kit says:

    Lovely to meet you at Charlotte’s book launch. Impressed that you both managed to make it there with all you’ve got on your plate at the moment.! Good luck with getting the renovations finished and some calm back in your life. Your girls look lovely, it’s a gorgeous picture of them!

    • Pete says:

      Thanks, Kit. It was lovely to meet you too. It was a real treat to hear Charlotte last night after I’ve known her (but never met) as a blog friend for years.

  5. I just want to send hugs from the trenches. I’m right there with you…the thing with the second is we know it gets better and goes all too quickly!

  6. You are very brave tackling so much at the same time. Your girls are gorgeous!

  7. doctordi says:

    Pete! Just emailed you and have seen your gorgeous new family member on FB (not to mention the flash new kitchen…), but wanted to say HELLO and how happy I am to see Couchtrip alive and well. Oh boy, can I ever relate to the ten posts you might have written…

Leave a Reply

