A Liebster meme

liebster-blog-awardThanks to Smithereens for the Liebster meme. 🙂 Here are my answers.

1. What’s your most recent favorite book?

Fiction: Life after Life by Kate Atkinson. It was quite different in that the main character kept dying and being reborn but it was brilliantly executed and I think it worked very well.

Non-fiction: I’ve already posted briefly about The Antidote by Oliver Burkeman. He covers such a lot of ground in this book in an easy and readable way. I think it’s a must for those interested in psychology and specifically the psychology of happiness. Home AwayI’ve also just finished Home Away (edited by Louis Greenberg), which is a collection of 24 stories by 24 writers (mostly South African) covering 24 hours and 24 cities. Some really excellent stories there and it made me want to read more local writing. It also made me want to write my own such story, which is something that really good books do too.

2. Name a writer you would blindly follow and buy any new book of.

Probably Julian Barnes. I’ve just bought his most recent one (Levels of Life) and am enjoying it so far.

3. What book would you like to re-read?

I very seldom re-read but I want to try it this year. It would have to be a novel or a collection of short stories.

4. What favorite book would you read to your 5 year-old child (or relative)?

I don’t know if I ever read Charlotte’s Web as a child but I’m looking forward to reading this to my daughter when she’s a bit older.

5. Have you ever regretted posting something on your blog?

Yes, I commented about a relationship which upset my then-girlfriend. I’ve also regretted letting my family know about my blog because it definitely constrains me in what I feel comfortable to write about.

6. How do you manage nasty comments on your blog?

I don’t get many of those (my blog is very small). But if I did get one I would see if it had any merit and either reply or delete. More annoying are the spam comments. Thankfully, WordPress filters most of these.

7. Have you read and enjoyed Tolkien’s books?

Yes, loved them. I remember reading somewhere that the (reading) world is divided into those who have read Tolkien and those who haven’t. It seemed a profound comment at the time, although not anymore. I would definitely revisit The Hobbit (with my daughter perhaps) but I wouldn’t re-read The Lord of the Rings.

8. If someone offered you a free air ticket, which destination would you choose?

So many places I’d love to visit (or revisit). In no particular order: Sydney, Auckland, Vancouver, San Francisco, London, Paris, New York, Amsterdam, Mauritius, Florence etc.

9. What is the weirdest food you’ve ever eaten?

I can’t remember if I’ve ever eaten snails or mopane worms but it would probably be an insect of some kind.

10. What’s your favorite post on your own blog?

Two of my favourite posts (and two of the most popular) are “Jung, Calvin and Hobbes and the Unconscious” and “Wedding readings”. I like the wedding one because it reminds me of a less stressed time in our relationship when we were more in the moment and weren’t worrying about houses and childcare and parents and jobs. And the “Calvin and Hobbes” one reminds me of a time when I felt more creative and intellectually alive. Nowadays I have long to-do lists at work and feel more under pressure.

11. What website do you visit for a 1 min break?

Facebook, Goodreads, the Guardian Books page

***

Who to nominate in turn? You know, my blog is so small at the moment that I would struggle to find 11 regular visitors who are bloggers themselves and who haven’t already been tagged. So if you feel like answering the questions below then consider yourself tagged. If I had to nominate some blogging friends I’d start with: Litlove, Grad, Lilian, Shrink on the Couch

My questions which you would need to answer:

1. What’s the most difficult thing you managed to do this week?
2. The most thought-provoking writing you read this week?
3. Do you still read a physical copy of the newspaper? Which one(s)?
4. Kobo vs Kindle vs Ipad?
5. What’s the best book you’ve never read?
6. What’s your favourite place for writing?
7. If you could learn a new skill, what would it be?
8. What’s the last TV series that you really enjoyed?
9. What’s the most played song currently on your iPod/ computer?
10. What’s the most unusual present you’ve received?
11. And lastly, since this is a blog after all, which of your popular posts do you really like?

Liebster rules (if you’re feeling rule-observing!)

When you’re nominated for a Liebster, here’s what you do:

1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.
2. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.
3. Answer the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.
4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
5. No tag backs, meaning you can’t just re-nominate the person who nominated you.

8 Responses to A Liebster meme

  1. litlove says:

    Thank you for nominating me! It’s such a relief to have a meme to answer rather than thinking up a whole new post. 🙂 I am really keen to read The Antidote, and Kate Atkinson too, but The Antidote too. As for posts you regret, I had NO idea that posting about Awesome Indies on Monday would drag me into such shenanigans. A writers’ site linked to it, and the comments were uniformly negative, all from self-published authors with the most distressing problems regarding the notion of authority and gate-keepers I’ve ever come across. It was sad really – somewhere along the line the sense of being excluded or judged had ended up in some serious disorders. I learned a valuable lesson – trying to reason with crazy people only annoys them. It might actually be an acid test for craziness. Anyway, someone should write a psychological study of self-publishing. It would be very intriguing.

    • Pete says:

      Hi LL. Yes, that would make a fascinating study. I was thinking that authors put so much of themselves into their books and then to have that judged and rejected must be terrible. And yes, reasoning with crazy people doesn’t work (and is really tiring too). But I enjoyed the insights into the SP world that your interview provided.

  2. Grad says:

    What?? No air ticket to Savannah? We have a very manageable “international” airport and if you park your car right outside the terminal – and run in to check to see if your guests have arrived – no one calls a swat team. Can’t do that in San Fran or NY!
    Thanks for the tag. I wish I had 11 readers! I’ll do my best. Can you believe I’ve never read anything by Julian Barnes? But I hear book bloggers talk about him a lot and might give him a try. I’ve also heard a lot of good things about Kate Atkinson, another author I haven’t read. Oh, and I had to laugh at LL’s comment about trying to reason with crazy people – something I manage to do all the time.

    • Pete says:

      I can’t believe I left out Savannah! I would love to visit – the closest I’ve been is Louisiana. (I’ve actually just Google Earthed your part of the world and that lawn was looking remarkably trim considering the amount of trouble that it was giving you!) Oh, and I’ve love to read your answers to my questions. I’m sure you’d find a Julian Barnes to enjoy (maybe “A History of the World in 10 1/2 chapters”)? He’s very English though (which can be both a good and bad thing!)

  3. doctordi says:

    Meant to say I had a little mental cheer to see Sydney front on centre on that list!

    I think I also neglected to remark upon those lovely photos!

  4. I am really enjoying seeing the questions this meme is generating – more so than past memes. I think it’s because the questions truly can be about ANYTHING, and the answers give some really fun and thoughtful insights into some of my favorite bloggers!

  5. smithereens says:

    Thanks for playing the meme! I do enjoy reading your answers (what? no LOTR for Leah??) and your new questions!

  6. Hello colleagues, how is all, and what you wish for to say about this piece of writing, in my
    view its truly awesome for me.

Leave a Reply

