Betty’s Bay collage

Thought I’d share a few pictures from our recent holiday at Betty’s Bay. L gave me a telephoto lens for my birthday in April and I’ve been trying it out.

BB collage

Top left: One of the proteas in my mom’s garden with the sea in the background

Top right: Leah and her dad at the local Botanical garden

Bottom right: Father and son on the beach in front of our house. I like the early morning mistiness and the silvery sea. Incidentally, it was freezing cold and they were wearing shorts.

Bottom left: A Malachite sunbird with its characteristic red and green colours.

Apart from last week in Betty’s and the interminable story of the house (not even close to getting a buyer yet), most of my time seems to be taken up with looking after a demanding but very endearing two-year old. Which reminds me that she wants her porridge. “You will make my porridge I think.” 🙂

6 Responses to Betty’s Bay collage

  1. litlove says:

    Betty’s Bay looks as gorgeous as ever, Pete! You remind me of one of my therapists (my favourite one, in fact) who told me about the time he had a cracking headache and his small daughter wanted a glass of milk. She kept pestering so he sat her down and explained all about his bad headache. After which she looked at him blankly and simply repeated her request. No one knows what we parents go through! 🙂

  2. Corri says:

    Wish you luck in your house sale – sounds like a very stressful time. Keep at it and sooner or later it will all work out. Bets Bay looks lovely!

  3. Lovely pics! The father and son fishing shot is familiar – could be my dad and my brother. And fishing in long pants, not a chance!

  4. Grad says:

    If there is a prettier place than South Africa, I sure wish someone would tell me about it. One day I hope to see it for myself, but pictures of it are stunning – including yours. Baby girl is growing so fast! What a cutie.

  5. Grad says:

    By the way, I love your house. I think it’s lovely. Any better luck in selling it?

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Grad. You are of course welcome to come and stay any time! (Betty’s Bay that it – you wouldn’t want to stay in our little house in town.) As for the house-selling, I should write a blog update about it. We missed out on the house we were trying for and now we’re stuck in a situation where we’re still going to try and sell with nowhere to move to! I’ll be sad to move but it will also be good to have more space.

Leave a Reply

