Friday bullets

• It’s been a not-so-great week here since one of our staff at school died in a motorbike accident last Friday. I didn’t know him well since he worked in the IT department but I would chat to him occasionally at lunch or when he came to fix one of the computers. He was a great guy and we’ve all been in shock about this. One of my colleagues commented about how short life is and how we need to treasure the time that we have. He was only 21 years old, lived at home with his parents and was actively involved in his church’s youth group. The accident happened in the road outside the house where we used to live and so I know that stretch of road very well. Apparently he and another motor cyclist were travelling quite fast in quite poor visibility and a car came out of nowhere in the morning rush-hour and took them both out. A terrible loss.

• This weekend L and I and little L are heading off to Hermanus with L’s parents. Should be a good break. We will actually be able to go out for dinner (just the two of us). That is if we can stay awake!

• Reading-wise, I finished Mrs Dalloway a while back but find myself quite incapable of reviewing it. I did enjoy it in parts but also struggled with the style of it. I think my expectations were shaped by the movie The Hours and so perhaps I had unrealistic expectations. I definitely enjoyed To the Lighthouse more than Mrs Dalloway. But I do wonder if I didn’t miss something here. Don’t people rave about this book?

• I’m listening to an audiobook on my Kindle (Rachel Drask’s A Girl Walks into a Bar). It’s funny and engaging and very light.

• Quite a nice change from my research at the moment which is “Anger Management”. I was encouraged to suggest a topic I can address during one of our Staff Development sessions and so I volunteered this since I have quite a lot of research on it. Interesting definitely but quite difficult and my brain is not used to research.

• I’ll probably post something on this in the weeks to come. In the meantime, bags to pack and girls to round up. Looks sunny here and pleasantly warm for a change.

6 Responses to Friday bullets

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your colleague. Enjoy the weekend break.

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Lilian. We had a good weekend away, although running after a toddler is exhausting. Really makes me reconsider the idea of travelling later in the year.

  2. Grad says:

    I am so sorry about your colleague. How terrible for his family. Things like this always remind us to make it count. Now, as to Mrs. Dalloway, I tried listening to The Hours during a recent road trip, but just couldn’t get interested in it and switched to 4:50 From Paddington, which was very good, as Agatha Christie always is. Have a great weekend! Rest and repair.

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Grad. It was great to be away, and by the sea, although I usually come back feeling I need another break! Interested to see your comment about Agatha Christie vs Virginia Woolf (although I know that The Hours is by Michael Cunningham).

      • Grad says:

        Was it really? I still have the audio book in the car. Very overdue…and I am certain to owe $2. It had the pictures of Meryl Streep and two other women on the cover. Perhaps it was by Cunningham now that you mention it. I hadn’t noticed. Dear me. Senility setting in? It wasn’t very good, I hate to say. Perhaps I’d like the movie? But when one is driving, perhaps something like Christie is better…although I will say I read most of Never Let Me Go on audio during a car trip and I was hypnotized by it. I wonder I ever got home safely. But “Hours” didn’t do it for me…neither did To The Lighthouse, which I also tried on audio. Could it be that…for the most part….Rex Stout and Dashiell Hammett and Agatha Christie just translate better to audio book? Just throwing that out there.

  3. DoctorDi says:

    How awful about your colleague. A friend’s brothers was killed the same way several months ago on his own street – absolutely devastating. I am so sorry to hear it.

    I’m with you. I was interested to read Mrs. Dalloway, but I didn’t love it.

Leave a Reply

