Pie-girl is one

Isn’t that a gorgeous cake? Well done to L for her baking and icing skills! I was pretty nervous about the stress involved in baking and icing a Winnie-the-Pooh cake but L really rose to the challenge. She even hired the baking mould a week before to practice and so this one was pretty near perfect.

Leah’s first birthday party was great. Tiring, happy, fun – but mostly tiring I’m afraid. I’m not sure why I seem more drained than usual at the moment. But the party itself went very well. Lovely jumpy castle, perfect weather, yummy food, kids playing happily, adults chatting merrily. L and I didn’t really get to sit down for very long since there’s always someone to greet and stuff to fuss about. Of course I didn’t HAVE to flit here and there. Guests can find their own drinks and snacks for example. And also make their own conversation. But I’m a worrier.

Leah had fun – and the kids had fun. Some even cried when they left because they were having so much fun. And it was good to see friends and family again (since it often seems as if L and I don’t really get the time to connect with friends or family other than the grandparents very often). And the grandparents had really gone out of their way to make it a special party as well.

(That’s one of L’s friends lighting the cake in case you wondered.) Leah was a little surprised by all the attention. She’s used to having Nana and Pops to herself and suddenly there were 15 kids and about 30 adults swarming about. She also doesn’t really understand the concept of unwrapping a present. She’ll sit with it looking a little bored while we try and get her to rip off the wrapping.

“What’s in the present, Leah? Look!”

And then Dada will rip the wrapping off and start playing with the toy.

One thing she does love is her car.

Her actual birthday is today so it’s off to the grandparents again for tea and cake and more presents. I can’t believe how quickly this first year has gone. It’s been a crazy rollercoaster ride. But I wouldn’t change it for the world.

***

Next time I hope to write a review of The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides. In fact I’m quite annoyed that I have to go to school and can’t just sit with my feet up (preferably with a cool sea breeze) and just finish it in peace.

16 Responses to Pie-girl is one

  1. smithereens says:

    Wow, what a great day for everyone! Happy b-day Little Miss Couchtrip!

    • Pete says:

      Thanks smithereens. Little Miss Couchtrip sounds cute. It’s funny to think that one day (hopefully) she’ll be able to read blogs for herself. Hope she won’t mind that I called her a pie-girl!

  2. David says:

    Congratulations! Looks like a wonderful time was had by all…and it’s insane that your daughter is already one. That’s a lovely dress for a special occasion, and she is clearly very much at home behind the wheel.

    • Pete says:

      Hi David. I think insane is a good word for what parents go through in the first year! And the wheels … one minute she’s not-quite-totally in control and the next she’s taking a dive for the floor. When she asks me for the keys I’ll have to remind her of this time.

  3. litlove says:

    Happy Birthday to the Pie! She clearly had a wonderful day. Give her until her third birthday, by which time she should be up all night waiting for the excitement to begin, and then you will long for the days when she had no idea what was happening! And don’t worry about being drained – parents are pretty much flat out for the first couple of years because it’s so exhausting. You will perk right back up again – but pay attention to your body now and don’t rush to ‘catch up’ on everything the moment you get some spare time. A certain amount of kicking back and letting the rest of the world go by is essential to surviving early parenting! 🙂

    • Pete says:

      Hi Litlove. Thanks for the reassurance and also the advice re the tiredness. We do try and catch up on things and then tire ourselves out even more. I like your suggestion re kicking back and letting the world go by. Cheers!

  4. doctordi says:

    Pete! Oh my goodness! Pie is ONE! Somehow I’d forgotten Leah was quite SO close behind Master J, so I’m as bamboozled as you must be to think a whole year has gone by. Wow. And what a lovely, lovely looking party for your gorgeous little miss. And listen, I am just totally WRECKED, buddy, so you are not alone. Seriously. It’s a miracle you can even get yourself to work and function once you arrive. Parenting is relentlessly exhausting. Do try and find some way for you and L to relax both separately and together, with and without the apple of your eye.

  5. doctordi says:

    Also, a message for L: ROCKING CAKE! I had urges around making Master J a giraffe cake, then felt too tired to turn thought to deed and ended up just making him a regular round cake, so I am really suitably impressed by Pooh. That is awesome.

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Di. I think L and I were both pretty wrecked after the whole cake / party thing. Not to mention a year of first-time parenting (and marriage too). I think we’re trying to be more realistic now, but then again we only realise afterwards when it’s all become a bit too much!

  6. Corri says:

    Congrats! To all three of you.

  7. Happy Birthday! How delightful and I tip my hat to the cake maker! I’m impressed.

  8. Courtney says:

    What a beautiful birthday girl – what a beautiful family! I get a kick out of our daughters being so close in age together…we’ll have mutual blogging interests for a long, long time (not that we hadn’t already)! I hope you are enjoying one as much as we are.

  9. Pete says:

    Hi Courtney. Yes, one is a lovely age. Leah loves being more mobile and is chatting away (mostly “Dis!” and “Dat!”) Apart from a few teething pains (four teeth at once it seems) she is mostly content and happy. Not quite walking yet but I think the term is ‘cruising’ – where she holds on to the table and shuffles along.

    I also love it that our daughters are a similar age. All the best to S and E.

  10. Grad says:

    Where was I when all this was happening??? I missed it. I am so late to say, “Oh, dear little Pie…God bless you and love you and keep you safe and happy. Happy Birthday, sweet. Your birthday dress was better than Project Runway could even imagine. And you got a car! Well, a girl has to see a little of this big old world. Best love.”

Leave a Reply

