Can do better

Leah (aka Baby F) is 10 months old today. She loves her food, loves books (they are her favourite toys) and loves people. She squeals with delight when we tickle her tummy and sometimes she just squeals to hear the sound of her own voice. She waves goodbye (sometimes with both hands) and says “bye”.

She tolerates tummy time but will usually roll on to her back within a few minutes. No crawling yet although she has managed to get from one end of the mat to the other by means of rolling. Some tentative signs that she’s thinking about it but no actual crawling (or shuffling along on her bum). She’s quite content to sit there and play with her toys and make all kinds of noises.

There’s some debate as to what she means when she says “da-da”. Naturally I think she’s referring to me but she’s also called L “dada” and she can’t say “mama” yet (although she has said “mada” and “bada”) so it could be a general word she uses for people she likes. I have no doubt that while she would be getting an A or an A+ for language development, her gross motor development report-card would read “Can do better”. Her fine motor development is good though and she is quite adept at ripping off parts of pages that are not stuck down firmly.

Incidentally, we are ignoring the peadiatrician’s advice to take her to a physiotherapist since we think there’s still plenty of time. Babies develop at different rates. Our baby loves chattering more than moving around.

She also has one tooth. It’s dear (although not so dear when she sinks it into L at breast-feeding time!) And mostly she sleeps through the night (although we’ve had a few horror nights when she had a cold). I was dispatched off to the chemist in the middle of the night last week to get some nasal drops.

Otherwise, not much to report. It’s the last day of school today so I’m looking forward to being on holiday. I will still see a few private patients until just before Christmas and then I’ll take a break for three weeks. I hope to be able to read a few books in between looking after Leah. The grannies also need a break so I imagine that I will be doing a lot more baby-sitting than reading.

I still hope to be able to talk about books and reading in this blog again sometime. Perhaps I should review children’s books. Julia Donaldson is a hit but we’ve recently discovered Emily Gravett. This is one of Leah’s Christmas presents. The best part is at the back where Cedric the dragon gets so annoyed with his mum (who has fallen asleep rather than read his favourite dragon story for the zillionth time) that he ‘accidentally’ breathes a ball of fire and burns a hole in the actual book that you’re reading. It’s very cute.

9 Responses to Can do better

  1. She’s beautiful and it’s lovely to hear you so happy, Pete. Meanwhile, I may just have to order Cedric for my godson – sounds like a fabulous book!

  2. smithereens says:

    So glad to hear about Leah’s progress and yours incidentally.
    Duh, physiotherapist at 10 months? You’re totally right to ignore this suggestion, it sounds like overkill when she looks like such a happy little lady!
    Always glad to hear about children’s books, will check this one out! I should recomment you the Gruffalo, it’s a great success in our family.

  3. litlove says:

    She looks adorable! What a cute age she’s reached. I second Smithereens and think it’s ridiculous to worry about her mobility. My sister-in-law’s last two babies weren’t walking by 18 months and didn’t talk much before two. They are both lively, clever, lovely teenagers now – they just took their own sweet time about things! And I did SO love reading to children – it’s the bit I miss the most still.

  4. she is so sweet. we’ve had some fire breathing dragon moments here–i can relate to the book!

  5. Grad says:

    Well,,,she quite simply takes my breath away. Beautiful with smart parents to boot. Lucky little girl. My daughter in law was watching old home movies which showed my daughter crawling around at her first Christmas. She was 7 months old at the time. She became very concerned because her son, my grandson, was one month older at his first Christmas and showed no signs of ever wanting to crawl around. I told her the very same thing you said, “All babies are unique and they get around to doing things at different times. He’ll crawl when he’s good and ready.” He never did crawl much, but one day he simply got up and walked. He was, is, and will always be the brightest kid I’ve ever met (and believe me, I’m not prejudiced! Really! I mean truly, I am not. You do believe me…don’t you?) Any way, Pete, she is so very beautiful and loving books early makes her my favorite kind of baby! Happy First Christmas, Leah! Enjoy all the wonder.

  6. DoctorDi says:

    Hear, hear – I absolutely agree with what everyone else and you yourself has said, Pete. We all know babies who didn’t crawl until well after one or didn’t crawl at all or whatever – and I can assure you the slow-to-move two I recall personally (both baby girls, incidentally) remain two of the most articulate children I have ever met, so I think they just had different priorities at the time, though both are very active little people now. Master J isn’t yet walking, though he is 13 months old and many of the children in my mothers’ group are up and away – but he says ‘that’ and ‘up,’ his own name and ours, among other things we THINK we’ve heard (‘beach,’ ‘trees,’ ‘hello’), so we accept he too has other things on his mind and will start walking when he is good and ready. Leah is on her own timetable, and look at her, she’s positively gorgeous. Merry Christmas to you all, and here’s to an exciting 2012. xx

  7. James Day z says:

    I guess if you have to work it s about having quality rather than quantity in your time with your children.

  8. Pete says:

    Charlotte, Smithereens, Litlove, Lilian, Grad, Di – Thank you all so much for the good wishes. And Happy New Year to you all! This is the first time I’ve made it to the blog since before Xmas so excuse the group reply. Baby F is cuter than ever and taking a few (assisted) steps. Still reluctant to crawl but babbling away. One of her favourite expressions is “Buddha-bar” (said in a variety of ways from tentative to insistent). We can’t believe that our darling girl will be 12 months old in a few weeks’ time.

    Thanks for all the reassurance and for sharing stories of other babas. We’re not part of any parent / mother group so it’s always lovely to hear about other children (grown-up ones included).

  9. […] owe Pete from Couchtrip a lot because he was the first to mention Emily Gravett as a kids lit favorite back in the days […]

Leave a Reply

