Here a hip, there a hop …

... everywhere a hip-hop.

Nothing to report here other than a pretty cute pie-girl. Just thought I’d post a quick picture and shoot the breeze (in bulleted form):

* It’s times like these that Baby F (aka pie) gets called “Bunny Hop”. As you can see, it hasn’t taken us long to descend into full-blown baby-talk. Num-num and noof-noof (melody hammer) being two other examples.

* I also realised that tip-toeing around the house is now standard practice (as is whispering). It only takes a few full-throated cries to make you realise who’s the boss in this house.

* One month to go in the military. Yay.

* I am getting to read (just very slowly). Zadie Smith’s essays (very good) and some psychology (writing and depression). No novels at the moment (although August is the month for reading Angela Carter).

* Any suggestiongs on how to get baby rhymes and songs off repeat-play in your head? Yesterday it was “The animals went in two by two”. And today, actually today they’ve gone. No “George George Morrison Morrison”, no “Tie me Kangaroo down, sport”. Ah bliss.

* L and I celebrated our 6-month wedding anniversary on Friday by going for a rushed dinner followed by a good (but pretty damn depressing) play called Rose. (Rose is one-woman play about an 80-year old Jewish woman at the turn of the century.) By the time the second girl died I was ready to drown my sorrows – except the bar was already closed. Not the best date we’ve ever had but Fiona York was excellent in the emotionally draining role. In retrospect it wasn’t the best choice of play for two first-time parents already anxious about leaving their precious pie-girl for the evening.

* Ok, I can’t end on that note. Just to add that it’s so sweet to see the pure joy that gets elicited by a bowl of carrot puree. Squeaks, squeals and some leg-pumping thrown in to the mix. Eee!

10 Responses to Here a hip, there a hop …

  1. Cutie pie indeed! Wonderful to get your update.

  2. Amanda says:

    She’s adorable!

    I don’t think there is a cure for getting baby songs stuck in your head on constant playback. I don’t know if you have discovered the Wiggles yet but I feel I should warn you that when my daughter was young I suffered, at least, three wearing years of near constant Wiggles earworms. Days and days on end of Rock a Bye your Bear got very, very tiresome, as did the refrain of “mashed banana, mashed banana”

  3. David says:

    Happy Anniversary … the play sounds like a real…laugh riot. 🙂 Your girls are beautiful.

  4. litlove says:

    Aww, such a delightful picture! Nope, no cure for the songs, but on the bright side, the adorable things your child says, the mis-pronounciations and the slips of the tongue become in-jokes forever. I feel for you about the play! Let’s next time that we finally get out of the house choose something that promises comedy, right? 😉 And oh yah for the end of the military; it’s been a long time coming. I’m cheering you on.

  5. smithereens says:

    Thanks for the update, I love those pictures!
    No idea how to get rid of children songs, but should you ever get an answer be sure to post, as I have exactly the same problem. A few months ago I was working in an open office together with colleagues who also had young children and some goofy Friday evening we had a spontaneous chorus.

  6. Courtney says:

    Oh, she’s just gorgeous! And I feel you – I’ve had “Moo, Baa, La la la” stuck in my head for days now…the cow goes moo, the sheep goes baa, three little pigs go la la la!”

  7. Grad says:

    Beautiful little baby! What a cutie. For my grandson’s first Christmas I bought this gigantic toy with all kinds of moving, singing things and animals. One song was, “Animals go…out to play…in the jungle…for the day…” And I involuntarily hummed it until about St. Patricks Day.

  8. DoctorDi says:

    Solids already?! My how time flies!! Pete, she is soooo beautiful!

  9. DoctorDi says:

    Oh, and six months into married life too – congratulations!

  10. Pete says:

    Lilian, Amanda, David, Litlove, Smithereens, Courtney, Grad, DoctorDi – Thank you all for your kind comments. I would love to add some more pics for another update when time allows. It’s a bit of a rollercoaster ride at the moment. We’re all still fine though (apart from my not being able to shake off this cold) and the occasional meltdown. Yesterday was pie’s turn for a meltdown and she has one so infrequently that we were really taken by surprise. Today she is back to her usual self and greeted me with a cheery “eh-oh”.

Leave a Reply

