Notes on Baby F

Baby F, also known as pi, piglet, turtle, squealer, piekin, little one and stinker, is six weeks old today! I realise that I haven’t posted in roughly three weeks and I apologise for that. Time flies when you’re having fun. And you understand that when I say ‘fun’ this is shorthand for a whole lot more. Yes it’s great when she’s smiling and gurgling and also sleeping. Not such fun when she’s yelling blue murder.

So because I realise that I won’t get round to posting anything serious anytime soon, I thought I’d just jot down a few notes on the pi.

1. She’s a very noisy drinker and perhaps because there’s a lot of milk which she’s drinking quickly she tends to slurp a lot.

2. I’m not sure why it’s so difficult to post at the moment. I think there was initially a sense of ‘this is private’ and we didn’t feel comfortable sharing pictures of her with the blogging world. But I’m over that now.

3. This past long weekend we went to Hermanus (to L’s parent’s house) and this was pi’s first holiday by the sea. She loved it and when she wasn’t wearing her cute sundress and hat she spent her time sleeping. She was also quite crabby when she came back home (and dad also had a meltdown yesterday from a combination of tiredness, anxiety and general stress). We won’t talk about that now (but sorry L if you get to read this!)

4. I’ve read about mothers and grandmothers making a big show of how ugly their babies are so that the evil spirits will not take them away. Oh you don’t want this baby. This baby is as ugly as can be. And then quietly to the baby they will say that actually she is the cutest little thing that ever there was. Well I am biased because I think she is very cute.

5. Enough chatter from me. I’ll let Baby F steal the show on her own. Lots of hair in case you were wondering and she has nails to match.

11 Responses to Notes on Baby F

  1. What a sweetheart! And I’m sure you’ll both be melting down from time to time. It’s what new parents do. 🙂

  2. awwww, definitely cute.

  3. Nope, not just a biased dad’s opinion – let me tell you quite objectively that she is SERIOUSLY cute! I’m also loving the beach belle look. Good luck with the broken sleep. As far as I can remember it either gets better or you just get used to it 🙂

  4. natalian says:

    Stolen the show she has! She is gorgeous Pete and L! Congrats again!

  5. Angeliki says:

    This is the cutest baby, I’ve ever seen! The sundress is awesome :-)Hope you manage to get some sleep and enjoy parenting as much as possible.

    In Greece, we pretend to spit on the babies after we accidentally say something nice about them so the bad eye won’t catch them. I know Greeks are weird.

  6. Charlotte says:

    So gorgeous! I particularly love pic #2, where it looks as if she’s blissed out after an exceptionally successful feed.

  7. emily barton says:

    She looks just like you! Really. Glad you’ve enjoyed your early days with your new little one (and don’t worry: parents are entitled to a meltdown or two, too. It’s a tough job!).

  8. Pete says:

    David – Thanks. Yes, I think it’s good to remind ourselves that feeling stressed is normal in the circumstances. It gets better.

    Lilian – And she seems to know her own mind too, which is good. (Although difficult to work out what the noises mean.)

    Karen – That’s reassuring to hear! I guess I’ll just have to get used to my rings-under-the-eyes look too. But she’s definitely worth it.

    Natalian – Thanks! Stolen our hearts too.

    Angeliki – Thanks. I like that Greek custom. Greeks are cool! As for the fashion, well I hope that mother and daughter enjoy clothes-shopping together since that’s not my best. And we will definitely try and enjoy the parenting.

    Charlotte – Exactly. She knows she’s on to a good thing there and she slurps it down like it’s chocolate milk. And then sits back with that blissed-out look on her face (when she’s not windy that is).

    Emily – Thanks for the reassurance. And at this stage I think Baby F is more L than me – she definitely has my hair but she apparently looks a spitting image of L when she was a baby. There are very few baby photos of me so we can’t make that comparison.

  9. DoctorDi says:

    You’re not the only one who thinks she’s adorable, Pete – she looks good enough to eat!!! Six weeks already?! The time warp continues… Give her some kisses and cuddles from her friends in Sydney, please! Xxoo

  10. Litlove says:

    What a little munchkin! She’s completely adorable. I’ve been reading all the comments and I did laugh at the idea of spitting on a baby after saying something nice about her. Keeps things evened up, I guess. Don’t expect you’ll be trying that one out, though! Can’t see anything wrong with supplanting the spit with a cuddle instead.

  11. Grad says:

    She is a splendid baby! If I could, I’d make my children that age again. A charmer, Pete…a real charmer – she makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

