Goodbye Sudan

What a relief to be back home! I arrived back in Cape Town on Tuesday night after a six-and-a-half hour cargo flight from Al Fashir to Pretoria and then a domestic flight from Joburg to Cape Town. I was greeted by a very happy (and pregnant) L and for the last two days we’ve been getting to know each other again.

I’ll be back with some pictures of my 58-day stay there but for now I’ll just post this. A closed blue gate. I love the fact that you can find variations of these doors all over the Arabic world. My mom bought me a picture of a similar door (more ornate with wooden carving) in Morocco.

It’s such a relief to be closing this door on Sudan. (Although it’s not quite closed – I’m still thinking about the guys that are there for Christmas and will be sending them a small parcel if I can get round to it today.) And now I get to sift through my images and memories and also hit the shops for the Christmas rush.

Here’s a picture of what the plane-ride back to SA was like. We got to share our space with a few returning vehicles.

Thanks for all the messages of support while I’ve been away. I really appreciate them.

10 Responses to Goodbye Sudan

  1. Pete says:

    p.s. Oh, and thanks Grad for the letter which arrived just before I left! I’ll reply shortly.

  2. litlove says:

    What a relief to have that episode over! And it sounds as if, in the end, it was unwelcome and difficult, but not traumatic. Rest up now and appreciate the comforts of home. Then tell us all about your thoughts on the experience when you’re ready.

  3. natalian says:

    Yey! I have been wondering when you will be returning home! Glad to hear you back safely with L and the rest of your family for Christmas!

  4. Oh hurray! I was so happy to see this in my reader. Welcome home, Pete.

  5. Sarah says:

    Glad to hear you made it home safe and sound Pete!

  6. Ella says:

    Congratulations Pete! Home in time for Christmas – you must be so relieved.

  7. Harriet says:

    Welcome home – have a wonderful Christmas!

  8. Courtney says:

    Oh, so very glad you made it home, and in time for Christmas, at that! this is the best news I’ve heard all day. Welcome home, and update when you can! Cheers.

  9. Glad your home and I’m certain your expectant wife is thrilled! Merry Christmas!

  10. yumech says:

    sudan is exotic country

Leave a Reply

