Clearing out

In true military fashion, let me give you a list of what’s happening:

1. Today is my last day in the office as I’m on holiday from Weds to Fri and will be leaving for the mobilisation area on Monday.

2. I have so much packing to do that it’s frightening.

3. I will be spending a whole month in the mobilisation area (in the Free State, still in South Africa) and this is apparently worse than the deployment itself.

4. I will then be in Darfur until Christmas (at the earliest). The Colonel says he will do his best to get me back by then. And my replacement is getting ready to go so I’m going to trust that this will happen.

5. I am not feeling very well. Hopefully the holiday will help. L and I will be staying in a treehouse near Sedgefield. I’ll take pictures.

6. I’ll check in again from the mobilisation area. Maybe once I’m there I can start to see this an adventure.

7. Until then I’m seeing this as a bit overwhelming. The paperwork alone is staggering. And nominating beneficiaries in the event of something happening was a little depressing. But we’ll get through this. Chat soon.

10 Responses to Clearing out

  1. doctordi says:

    Well, there must be a gritted teeth aspect to all this, Pete, and I’d worry more were you not finding it a bit overwhelming! It’s very sane that you’re not clicking your heels and dancing off to deployment.

    Have a wonderful, restful, loving time with L and the bump, Pete. I look forward to the photos, and to your eyewitness accounts of life in the mobilisation area.

    It is an adventure too, whatever else it is, and it’ll be an amazing tale to tell your little friend.

  2. Sarah says:

    Sorry to hear you do have to go Pete, enjoy your holiday at least!

  3. Harriet says:

    This sounds so difficult. I hope you can enjoy your vacation, and that you will be able to keep us updated once you get to your ultimate destination. Much love 🙂

  4. litlove says:

    Well I think you’re doing splendidly. Judging by my performances of late, I’d be having raging hysterics if I were in your shoes. You may have to do this, but you don’t have to like it. Bitch, wail and moan – trapped negativity may not be pretty but it will feel a hell of a lot worse all knotted up inside you. I kept a negativity journal at one stage of cfs because I was so fed up of people telling me to concentrate on being grateful. It helped enormously.

    You know I’m thinking of you and will be there in spirit (the easy way to travel!). I think you are being immensely, hugely, brave.

  5. Big hugs, Pete, and I hope like hell you’ll be back by December.

  6. I must have missed something Pete. I thought you’d asked for a deferment–did that not go through?

  7. Pete says:

    DoctorDi – Thanks. This holiday is just what I needed. We’re luxury camping and right now I have a towel over my head to see this screen. The bathroom is open to the elements so those romantic baths are quite short since any exposed bits get frozen. Too much information I imagine but we’re talking knees here!

    Sarah – Thanks. We’re reading too (which always helps). I’ve chosen very light reading (Colin Cotteril’s The Curse of the Pogo Stick) and L is reading Rosie Thomas (Lovers and Newcomers).

    Harriet – Thanks. Love to you too. Will keep you posted from my various postings.

    Litlove – Thanks so much. Have thought of you with your cf and how you would cope. You’re right about the trapped negativity. I had a mild go at the supermarket clerk for not greeting me before we left and then got very mildly angry with the military people for leaving the ticket-booking to the last minute. My symptoms (tummy) have been playing up of course but I’m trying to be mindful of all this and just go with the flow. And we saw a Knysna Lourie in the forest yesterday which was a huge bonus.

    Charlotte – Yes me too! I suppose it’s some consolation to know that the worst-case scenario would be attending the birth via phone (like Grad’s son) but we’re a long way from there yet. Am going to fight for the original agreement.

    Lilian – Yes I did but they turned me down. Imagine a Colonel with a Darth Vader-type voice saying “You Will Go!” and I opted for a compromise of going but coming back early. My replacement is the most reliable I could ever wish for so am hoping for the best.

  8. Courtney says:

    I’m sorry to hear you still have to do this, but I think your attitude is AMAZING given the circumstances. Do keep us updated as often as you can, and enjoy your holiday as well – you will be in my thoughts and prayers!

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Courtney! Will have to update as I’m now in the mobilisation area where I’ll be for four weeks. This place tends to drain all intelligent thought from my brain though so I might be forced to post pics instead.

  9. Grad says:

    Pete, I tried to comment but my computer froze up when I hit the post button and then it swallowed it. I do hope my letter gets to you before you leave. Soon this will be behind you and you’ll have so much happiness to come home to. Best hugs to you and L. All good thoughts coming your way from Savannah.

Leave a Reply

