Halloween meme

In the spirit of Halloween, and even though we don’t do Halloween here in SA, I thought I’d ask my resident horrorphile (the lovely P) to answer Emily’s 13 meme questions which I first saw over at Courtney’s. Here goes (and this is unedited by the way, which is really saying something about my ability not to be too controlling!)

1). Which urban legend ghost scared the bejeezus out of you when you were a kid?

I used to find any kind of poltergeist scary.

2). Which horror movie has the best premise?

I think the original Saw (yes, the rest were pretty lame) was brilliant. I LOVE it when there’s a twist I’m not expecting, and when the ‘dead’ guy gets up right at the end of the movie after lying there, er, ‘dead’ the whole time, well, I was impressed that I’d been misled! Plus – and I guess these don’t count as horror movies but rather as thrillers – The Others and The Sixth Sense. I loved the twists in these too.

3). What is the most disappointing “treat” to receive in your bag on Halloween night?

Well, we don’t really do the whole trick or treat thing in SA but I’d say any kind of fruit wouldn’t score highly on the excitement scale for me. Give me chocolate, please – Lindt or Cadbury if possible!

4). What’s the best non-candy item to receive?

Er, I’ll pass on this one…. Trick or treating is all about the sweets, isn’t it? 🙂

5). Did a monster live in your closet when you were a child?

No. But I had a thing about the possibility of something lurking under my bed, and would often peak under there before I turned out the light at night.

6). Which supernatural creature sent chills up your spine when you were ten and still does?

I used to find vampires pretty intriguing – I remember seeing a movie where a vampire scales the wall outside someone’s bedroom and it freaked me out. But I don’t find them that scary any more.

7). Which supernatural creature makes you yawn?

I’m afraid zombies don’t really do it for me. I think the way they move just makes me want to laugh – plus I think I’ve seen too many zombie spoof movies! (Sorry, Courtney!)


8). What’s your favorite Halloween decoration?

I agree with Courtney – the carved pumpkins with candles inside do look pretty sinister. And they remind me of the movie Halloween….


9). If you could be anywhere on Halloween night, where would you be?

On the couch watching some of the scariest DVDs imaginable, with a stash of chocolate and chips. (And with you to snuggle up next to, babe! Sorry to drag you into this scenario – I know you’re not crazy about scary movies!)

10). What’s the scariest book you’ve read so far this year?

Sadly I haven’t read any scary books this year, but Misery and The Shining by Stephen King are two of my all-time favourites….

11). Haunted houses or haunted hayrides?

I haven’t heard of haunted hayrides but they sound like loads of fun! I’ve been on haunted walking tours in London and York, though, and they were mostly funny but there were a couple of scary moments too!


12). Which Stephen King novel/movie would you least like to find yourself trapped in?

I think either Misery (at the mercy of Kathy Bates and her sledgehammer – eek!) or Cujo.

13). Which are creepiest: evil dolls, evil pets, or evil children?

I’d have to say evil children. The child in The Omen (the book and the movie) terrifies me!

5 Responses to Halloween meme

  1. Pete says:

    Well done to P on her first blog-post! Not so scary hey? As for the evil pets, evil children question, I would have to say that snarling, evil dogs scare the hell out of me. But then evil children and evil dolls would probably do the same 😉

    I was also thinking that the reason that I don’t do horror movies is that they make me far too anxious. I once had a panic attack watching a horror movie in a cinema in Joburg. But perhaps a few good horror movies would actually help here?! Of course I might just end up clenching my teeth or downing too much wine and feeling wretched. But worth a try!

  2. Emily Barton says:

    Very well done for someone who doesn’t celebrate Halloween. I think I saw that same movie (or read something) with a vampire scaling the wall to get into someone’s bedroom and got freaked out. I especially like your answer to #9. Pete, drag out a gallon of wine (goes nicely with the chocolate, you know) and try it with her. I recommend one of the ones she mentions with a twist, either “The Others” or “The Sixth Sense.” They are BOTH terrific, although “The Others” I found more frightening.

  3. Pete says:

    Emily – Thanks (on behalf of P)! I’ll let you know what horror movie we end up watching. I could get used to this horror-chocolate-winefest idea 😉

  4. litlove says:

    I am so with you on poltergeists. I don’t think I’m scared of ghosts, but I would be if it could throw something at me. And I always checked under my bed – can’t be too careful. I still do, although nowadays it’s to make sure one of the cats hasn’t crept under there… Now THEY can give a person a fright by jumping on the bed unexpectedly at night….

  5. Evil children are so scary, I think, because many of us have met at least one, so we know they’re real. Whereas most people are pretty sure that zombies aren’t real, although the last time I shopped at a warehouse store, I did wonder about the other shoppers.

Leave a Reply

