The House

Halfway through the year already and things are not going too badly considering that I’ve just bought a house. Did I mention the house? The one with the walls and the roof and a cute little (we’re talking very little) garden and the wooden floors and the front porch which gets beautiful sunlight in winter. Three bedrooms and one and a half bathrooms. It’s in an up-and-coming neighbourhood and is reasonably close to the house where I used to live many years ago when I taught at Westerford.

How did it come about? My parents have a bit of cash to invest and so they were thinking of buying a small house on auction that needed doing up. So we went to see it and didn’t like it. On the way back we stopped off at a few show-houses. This one ‘spoke to me’ straight away. I liked the open feel of it, the wooden floors and the position. It has a drawback in that it shares a driveway with the house behind but I actually like this. It’s good to have contact with the neighbours and the couple that live behind are apparently settled and nice.

I was in the house for all of about five minutes but I liked it instantly and as we drove away, I said we should think about putting in a bid. Nothing happened about that since when we got home my dog had climbed on the furniture again and left a drop of blood on one of the couches in the lounge. Disaster! My mom managed to get off the blood with some carpet shampoo but we felt completely deflated after the pleasure of looking at show-houses. My mom also got a call from the estate agent to say that the house was apparently not on the market after all. There’s a bid which has been accepted. Pity, because I really liked it.

Two days later I’m sitting in the kitchen with my mom and she says, “If you’re not going to do anything about getting a house then I’m going to re-invest my money.” In the meantime the estate agent had called back to say that the previous bid was rejected.
I phoned her up again and arranged to put in an offer. Since the previous offer was dependent on the neighbours behind agreeing to a carport which would block their lounge-window, this was rejected when the neighbours (not unreasonably) said no. My offer was unconditional and was accepted. Easy as that. I still have to pay the deposit (by today) and raise a bond within 30 days but those should be mere formalities. Occupation in eight weeks’ time. Can’t wait …

****

Having a quiet morning since my first patient is at lunch-time, which gives me a few hours to get on with some editing. I’d forgotten how time-consuming it is to do a good edit. Ten pages in the hour before breakfast and this is a re-edit since I did the first paper changes a few weeks ago. At this rate it will take a very long time before I give it back to S.

Taking a break with my “Psycho Mix rides again” mix. Love this track, “Lost” by Coldplay.

Weekend was pretty quiet. Watched the men’s and women’s Wimbledon finals. How was that last set between Federer and Roddick? I felt very sorry for Roddick at the end (and he was gutted). They were still trading volleys in the post-match interviews as well:

Roger: “Don’t feel so bad, Andy, I lost last year and I came back this year.”
Andy: “Yeah, but you only lost once!”

And it’s true. In something like seven finals at Wimbledon, Federerer has won six times! Both Federer and Roddick wanted to grab what could be their last chance at the title before the return of the powerful Nadal.

Then there was the rugby, which the Lions won. (I was happy after the debacle with the Springbok coach basically condoning eye-gouging. The Lion’s coach called him a clown, which was quite accurate.)

A nice roast chicken for Sunday lunch and some reading. A few books on the go at the moment: The Paris Review Interviews (Vol 2); Thin Blue by Jonny Steinberg; Therapy by David Lodge. And a few odd titles here and there. Will try and post a review later this week.

Otherwise, it’s house, house, house. I can’t tell you how good it feels to know that I will soon have a place of my own to stay in again. P likes it too, although she has mixed feelings since we were looking for a place to rent together. But she’ll come round …

12 Responses to The House

  1. litlove says:

    The house sounds delightful – congratulations!

  2. natalian says:

    Man, I felt for Roddick! It was an epic battle. He certainly gave it his all and I could well understand the flood of emotion he felt after losing. It was intense to the very end. May the rest of the ‘house buying’ logistics go smoothly!

  3. Glad to hear you have found a wonderful home. I hope the next stage goes smoothly.

    That last set yesterday was unbelievable. Andy Roddick fought like a tiger – but I was glad that Federer got his record.

  4. Emily says:

    congratulations!

  5. Sarah says:

    Congratulations on the house!

    I was barracking for Roddick, so was sorry to see he was beaten. Great tennis though.

  6. Pete says:

    Litlove – Thanks!

    Natalian – Yes, amazing to see that Roddick’s legs were starting to go as well as his hand-eye coordination and Federer was still Mr Cool. As for the house logistics, getting a bit tired of them already!

    Charlotte – Thanks. Very exciting but I’m realising how much work still lies ahead. The bond for starters. As for the tennis, I still think Roddick could have won it.

    Emily – Thanks.

    Sarah – I know, but I don’t think I want to sit through an epic like that again. I tend to support the underdog so when Federer was losing I supported him and then when Roddick was losing I supported him. Don’t know what that means though …

  7. Effendi says:

    it means you don’t want the match to end. Cos it’s a good thing, watching tennis. You almost got your wish there: 16-14. Eish!

  8. doctordi says:

    The humble abode sounds gorgeous, full of character – I am really excited for you, Pete, you won’t know yourself. Wonderful! It’s so much fun, so cool, making a house that’s your own a home.

  9. Pete says:

    Effendi – You’re right. And the Ashes starts on Thurs!

    Di – I hope so. I don’t do change very well (and neither does my dog) so I’m excited but also anxious. And still eight weeks. But just having all my books around me will be a big comfort 😉

  10. Congratulations on the house!!! I’m so glad it all worked out.

  11. musingsfromthesofa says:

    Congratulations on the house! It sounds lovely.

  12. doctordi says:

    I’m a big, big believer in change, Pete, so all I can suggest is that you focus on the enthusiasm instead of the fear. All the immediate positives – like having a home for all your books. That’s lovely. Eight weeks to lift-off!

Leave a Reply

