Playing

“To truly laugh, you must be able to take your pain and play with it.” — Charlie Chaplin (quoted in Charlene Smith’s Committed to Me, 2009).

“One thing has not changed, however. Psychoanalytic theories radiate in different directions from a common, core commitment to a sustained, collaborative inquiry into the complex inter textures of human experience, established in the complex interplay between past and present, actuality and fantasy, self and other, internal and external, conscious and unconscious, (waking and sleeping, thinking and feeling). — Mitchell and Black

Quite by chance, the two quotes I selected for today are about playing. I like the idea of interplay between thought and feeling, conscious and unconscious, self and other, internal and external, actuality and fantasy. The thoughts radiate in circles from these points.

Still on playing, I’ve started a flickr wall on the notice-board in my new office. The first eight pics are up and they are a great reminder of what I love about photography — the play of light.
I’ll post a pic soon.

Happy Wednesday now, y’all (and happy birthday to my big sister!)

8 Responses to Playing

  1. litlove says:

    Someone (was it Winnicott?) said that it was the job of therapy to teach the analysand how to play again. Anyhow, we don’t remove the concept of a goal and just play anywhere near enough. So bravo to that!

  2. Steve says:

    TO LEARN ABOUT A PSYCHOANALYTIC BIOGRAPHY OF CHARLIE CHAPLIN go to:
    http://www.chaplinalife.com

  3. I like Chaplain’s quote.

  4. Natalian says:

    Looking forward to that pic! I always enjoy seeing what grabs a photographer’s attention, how it is interpreted and the way in which a shot is taken. As for Chaplin’s quote, I like the concept.

  5. Pete says:

    Litlove – Definitely sounds like Winnicott. And I think play has goals – they just change a lot more often.

    Steve – Welcome! I digged you out from the spam queue (nice to meet a fellow spammer). Good luck with the book – looks very interesting.

  6. Pete says:

    Lilian – Me too, although I do worry that playing with pain can easily become a little sadistic or masochistic.

    Natalian – One of my (materialistic) goals for this year is to buy a decent digital camera. But I think the elements are still the same – the angle, the framing, the interpretation. I love the way no two pics are quite the same.

  7. doctordi says:

    I love that Chaplin quote, Pete, and I hope your sister had a lovely birthday!

  8. Emily Barton says:

    Oooo, I love that first quote. I’ve always said that the very funniest people are those who use humor to deal with pain and suffering (of course, sometimes that can get out of hand). And a belated Happy Birthday to your sister!

Leave a Reply

