Go tell Aunt Rosie (and other updates)

Some of the things that have been happening around here lately:

1. Waking up to an ear-worm of “Go tell Aunt Rosie” is a rather odd experience. Quick check of what it could mean. The old grey goose is dead. The only association I can make here is that Australia’s goose is cooked in the cricket. I’ve been exchanging a few brief emails with an Aussie cricket-writer and I’m feeling a little smug that the South Africans look set to win this test after a crushing defeat in the first one. I’m also pretty sure that this writer would not appreciate being referred to as Aunt Rosie :-)

2. We’re under the 100 days to go mark with our new house! Here’s a picture of what it looked like a few days ago. As you can see, it’s rubble, rubble, rubble.

house before pic

3. Leah turned 3 and we had a Tinkerbell party for her. A colleague’s wife made this gorgeous cake …

tinkerbell cake smaller

4. Reading-wise, I’m struggling to keep a good momentum going. Partly this is because I’m not reading any fiction this month. I’m limiting my reading to books that I’ve already started and they don’t flow as easily as novels do. With our renovations taking up every available cent, I’ve resisted any new purchases but next month I’ll allow myself one new novel.

The Happiness Project

5. One book I am enjoying is the audio version of Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project. I’ll review here in due course but a quick point which I’ve enjoyed: Rubin says there are four stages of happiness: anticipation of the event, savouring the experience, the expression of the feelings and then remembering the event afterwards.

Applying this to Leah’s birthday for example, much of the happiness was spent in anticipating Leah’s enjoyment of the party and her presents and then remembering the event afterwards. The party itself was pretty tiring.

7 Responses to Go tell Aunt Rosie (and other updates)

  1. charlotte says:

    That IS a beautiful cake. I hear you about kids’ parties – they are exhausting. I used to find the burden of having to run the whole thing in German, according to German birthday party expectations (party must start at three, go till six, supper must be provided, crafting is expected) doubly tiring. Luckily now my lot are big enough to plan and run their parties themselves. I am relegated to caterer. Good luck with the renovations!

  2. litlove says:

    Childrens’ parties were one of the many reasons I only had one child. They are deadly. But as Charlotte says, it’s no time at all before you can pack them off to the cinema or something, and life improves. The renovations look exciting!! It will be beautiful when it’s done.

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Litlove. I hope the renovations look good at the end. I still can’t quite believe that these piles of rubble will all come together and transform into a lovely family home. As for the party, Leah did enjoy it and that’s the main thing.

  3. Fabulous cake! I hear you — kids’ parties are draining, but it looks as though this one was a success. I’m interested to read your review on The Happiness Project. Overall I enjoyed it — I also listened to the audio version. Rubin did began to grate on my nerves towards the end. Maybe it’s just the difference in temperament, but I had a difficult time relating to some of her struggles and in the last few chapters I wanted to shake her. I definitely picked up some tips that I’ve incorporated into my life and have recommended the book to others. All the best with the renovations!

    • Pete says:

      Thanks Viv. I had a similar reaction to Rubin. She has no real problems to deal with and so it’s difficult to see what she has to complain about. But there’s practical advice in there and I’m taking this one chapter at a time.

  4. The Tinkerbel cake topper was really charming. Really loved the artists rendition of that cute little fairy. Truly, a one of a kind cake!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

