My week so far (with owls)

Sunday
L’s birthday brunch with family. Enjoyable but completely overshadowed by a visit to the emergency room later in the day. Leah fell off a slide at a birthday party and landed awkwardly on her shoulder. No fracture thankfully but lots of tears.

Monday
Leah is sick in the car on the way to my staff drinks function at work. Call L. Drop off child and car-seat at home, change clothes and head to the function. Get home an hour late to a not-very-impressed wife.

Tuesday
Wake up to a slight hangover. In the evening, Leah refuses to go to bed. Much cajoling and then eventually a bit of light discipline.

Weds
L feels guilty about aforesaid discipline but Leah is fine. Chatting away. “Hic burp” (laugh). Leah happy to wear her new summer dressing gown. I have to give a short tribute speech to a colleague who is being retrenched.

And that’s just half the week gone. Add in various stressors related to the sale of our house and the proposed renovation of our new house and I feel like things are a little overwhelming at the moment. The trouble is that I don’t have the will or the energy to really process all the things that are happening at the moment. I’m trying to take things one day at a time but, as the saying does, several days seem to gang up on me at once.

At least there is online Scrabble to bring a bit of light relief. And a walk in Kirstenbosch. Last time we went we saw the owls. There are two Eagle owl chicks who are a gorgeous mottled colour and who look like they could be almost adolescents by now. I’m not sure if their mom still feeds them but it’s a little disconcerting to think that one day these little ones will leave the nest.
Spotted-Eagle-Owl-5-Kirstenbosch-23-Oct-2012-Copy

Just writing about owls now reminds me of a recent read, “Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls” by David Sedaris. This was my first Sedaris and I really enjoyed it. I won’t review it here (perhaps I already did?) since I posted a short review on Goodreads. But I liked the combination of humour and sincerity that Sedaris brings. Sedaris’s partner (whose name escapes me for the moment) likes Owls and so people give him lots of owl-related gifts. When David gets a chance to buy him a stuffed owl for Valentine’s Day, he jumps at this opportunity. It was a good story, which I’m totally not doing justice to here. But I did want to break my blogging drought and give you have a rather random snapshot of our lives at the moment.

Reading-wise, I’ve picked up a copy of Jumpha Lahiri’s Unaccustomed Earth, which is quite slow and thoughtful and a lovely contrast to my slightly out-of-control life at the moment.

3 Responses to My week so far (with owls)

  1. Baby owls are pretty much comfort for everything. I remember one season when we had six in a tree in our garden. I loved knowing they were there and seeing them dance at night.

  2. litlove says:

    You are bringing back vivid memories (some might say trauma flashbacks!) of life with a small child. I found it very hard not to have control over my environment – though I didn’t realise just how hard until my son left home. And then of course I felt guilty! If you can find any way of avoiding the hopeless double whammy of painful self-abandonment followed by guilt for not having been selfless enough, do so. Let me be a terrible warning, given that I cannot stand as a good example! ;)

  3. Corri says:

    Online scrabble for relaxation (tick – agree); and Unaccustomed Earth on the bedside table (tick) – completely agree with your relaxation methods… I quite like the slowness of the stories and just pick one up every so often. Now want to start Lowlands but somehow keep avoiding it. Why? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

